The five Olympic Rings                        2014 Winter Olympics logo.svg

First of all, I must admit that I am such an Olymp-a-holic. Yes, I freely admit it. I know that it is not a real word but it so aptly describes this condition I have. Since the very first time I watched the Olympics on TV as a small child with my parents, I have been fascinated by the winter & summer Olympics. I am so in awe of what the human body can accomplish and how the athletes continue to push the boundaries of what was thought humanly possible even from just the day before.

I have visited the sites of some of the Olympic games but never during the games-Los Angeles, Atlanta, Vancouver, Paris, London, Sydney, Oslo, Mexico City, Amsterdam, Munich, Garmich-Partenkirchen, and even Athens. I was born near Munich & Garmich. I was breathless when I visited the ancient site in Olympia, Greece & of course, I had to walk the tracks & sit in the stadium. Someday I will, I WILL, attend the Olympics and I won’t care what sport or where it is being held. On my bucket list long before there was a thing called a bucket list.

During the opening ceremony, I was very impressed with the avant-garde representation of the Russian history and the sheer size of everything, the choreography and all the tech images. Watching all the athletes arriving into the stadium is always fun to watch too. But I was most impressed by what International Olympic Committee president Thomas Bach said, “The Olympic Movement always stands for building bridges to bring people together, not for erecting walls to keep them apart. It has been my own life philosophy and guiding principle as well. It is possible—even as competitors—to live together under one roof in harmony, with tolerance and without any form of discrimination for whatever reason. The International Olympic Committee wants your Olympic Dream to come true. This is why we are investing almost all of our revenues in the development of sports. The universal Olympic rules apply to each and every athlete- no matter where you come from or what your background is. You are living together in the Olympic Village. You will celebrate victory with dignity and accept defeat with dignity. You are bringing the Olympic Values to life. In this way, the Olympic Games, wherever they take place, set an example for a peaceful society. Olympic Sport unites people. This is the Olympic Message the athletes spread to the host country and to the whole world. Yes, it is possible to strive even for the greatest victory with respect for the dignity of your competitors. Yes, Yes, it is possible – even as competitors – to live together under one roof in harmony, with tolerance and without any form of discrimination for whatever reason. Yes, it is possible – even as competitors – to listen, to understand and to give an example for a peaceful society.”

I totally agree and think that more people should believe & live by these words. A peaceful society, what a nice goal.

