I heard on the news today that one of my favorite food stores Trader Joe’s has a positive effect on housing prices. It seems that homes that are located within 1 mile of Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods are worth twice as much as the national median. In a study of home prices between 1997 and 2014, it states that within 2 years of Trader Joe’s stores opening in an area, the homes are worth 10% more than similar homes in areas without Trader Joe’s. Interesting, eh?

All I know is that I am 100% happier within 2 days of a Trader Joe’s opening near me. I lived in California for 20 years and I happily shopped there every week. When I moved back to Annapolis, Maryland no Trader Joe’s were to be found. Within a couple of years, it arrived. Now I live in St Petersburg, Florida and after 8 years of living here, Trader Joe’s opened a store within 5 minutes from my house and office. Hooray!! You see, good things happen to those who wait. Thanks Trader Joe’s! And no, I am not getting any money from them-yet-hint, hint.

